Matt from Chicago was the first guy to really teach me about SEO (search engine optimization) and get me pointed in the right direction. I owe Matt a HUGE thank you. One of the things Matt said quite often was that the person who controls the traffic gets the cash. And, that is one of the truest statements in the world of online businesses.
Think about it. The amount of traffic is in direct proportion to your income. It’s all numbers. A certain percentage of visitors will convert to customers, click on an ad, join your list, or somehow convert into a profit. That is usually somewhere between .5% – 5%. If it is just Google Adsense you’re after, it could be higher than that with your click thru rate, but over all, that is about right for general website visitors. So, for every 100 visitors, 5 of them will be profitable in some way for you.
The question is, how long does it take for you to get 100 visitors? One month? One week? One day? One hour? The difference between the affluent and the struggling is all about the traffic. There are a couple other factors as well (elements on your site that could boost or hinder conversions), but, it all boils down to the amount of traffic you get, and in what time frame you get them. Let’s do a bit of math:
- If you make $10 for each conversion, that would mean you make $50 for every 100 visitors (based on a 5% conversion rate). That could equate to $50 per day ($1500 per month), or just $50 per month, all depending on how long it takes you to get 100 visitors.
- If you make $.40 for each conversion from a website that uses Google Adsense as a primary means of monetization, and you get a higher, 15% click through rate, that would mean $6 for every 100 visitors. That is either $6 per day ($180 per month) or $6 per month, all depending on how long it takes you to get 100 visitors.
- If you make $100 for each conversion, that would mean you make $300 for every 100 visitors (based on a 3% conversion rate). That could equate to $300 per day ($9000 per month), or just $300 per month, all depending on how long it takes you to get 100 visitors.
These are huge differences! In the above examples, the difference between 100 visitors a day vs. 100 visitors a month is $10,680 vs. $356. One guy is making over $100K per year, and the other guy may be able to cover his car payment.
It’s all about traffic.
So, how do you increase traffic to your website? The answer is pretty simple. You need to get backlinks to your website. The more backlinks you get, the more traffic you will get. Getting links from other websites is like a vote for your site. The more votes you get the higher in the search engines your website will move. The higher in the search engines you get, the more traffic you will receive. Getting to page 1 of Google is the prime real estate, with the ultimate goal of being #1 on page (or at least in the top 3), because that is where almost all traffic comes from.
You need links pointing at your site, and the more the merrier. You need a combination of all sorts of links. You need links from quality sites (because their votes have more weight to them), but you also need links in quantity from all kinds of places (article directories, blogs, social bookmarking sites, web 2.0 sites, regular websites, forums, etc.). Let me give you two must haves if you are wanting more traffic to your site.
Link Building Domination – This is a very inexpensive, yet very comprehensive guide one where, how, why, when to get links to your site. I’ve ready many, many different courses, watched many videos, and attended many seminars, and I like this one the best. You cannot go wrong with this one. I even gave it to my daughter to read so she could grow her website traffic.
Bookmarking Demon – The name is a bit corny and it may sound like you’re doing something slightly evil, but I can assure you this is as good as it gets in getting social bookmarking and similar links to your site. If you watch their video and read their report, you’ll see what I’m talking about. The price is pretty good, but the good news is that it is a one-time only price. Some of the other systems (which are not near as good) charge $120 per month.
Now, there are other things you can do, and I will be outlining in the days to come some of the paid and free things I do to build traffic to my sites. But, traffic should be your primary focus. Creating original content on your site is very important. Having a decent looking site is important. Selling or promoting something of quality is also important. BUT, it means nothing without traffic.